A world without art

Screenshot 2017-04-01 12.35.52Music made me who I am. I say this with full confidence, not as a clichéd catchphrase.

Music changed my life for the better and it’s saved it. I’ve met my best friends, thanks to music, and connected with people I never would have otherwise.

Until I saw bands playing at my school and took music classes, I didn’t realize that I could be a part of it, much less make my own music. These things are my absolute passion; the ability to channel nebulous thoughts and emotions into sound, and to show the world things that could never be put into words is an incomparable, amazing, human feeling. I’ve gotten through the hardest parts of my life thanks to music, and I know many others who have, as well.

I’ll never forget in 2012 when I saw my favorite band in concert with my best friend; that memory will forever remain shining and golden, one of the best of my life.

Screenshot 2017-04-01 12.37.12All of this was thanks to my exposure to music, and my opportunity to learn about it early on.

Music, along with other arts, is the best way to foster and grow young creative minds. However, not everyone gets this opportunity, particularly the poor and underprivileged. Music should be a human subject, not a commodity afforded to the rich and lucky. This is especially true considering how helpful music is in almost every area: creativity, problem solving, social skills, happiness, patience, discipline.

These things are facts.

So why is it that the number of high-poverty schools that offer music instruction has dropped from 100 percent to 81 percent in the past decade? How is all of this benefit not considered a fundamental part of our education system? While STEM fields got a $240 funding boost during the Obama administration, why did arts programs around the country suffer and shrink?

This needs to change. School value systems need an overhaul. Many school administrators do not believe music and arts are fundamental to education. Many music programs around the country are weak, under-equipped, and poorly staffed. The most important subjects aren’t just those that can “get you a job out of college,” they’re the ones that make people’s lives better, the ones that ensure our children’s intellectual growth and happiness. Who would want to live in a world without music and art?

By Daniil Chupalov

Leave a Reply

